Oklahoma’s Water/Wastewater Agency Response Network (SOONERWARN) is the formalized system of “utilities helping utilities” with mutual aid during emergency situations. The project is designed to reduce bureaucratic red tape in times of emergency. The goal of SOONERWARN is to provide immediate relief for member utilities during times of emergencies. The purpose is to get personnel with the necessary tools and equipment that can both assess and assist the impacted water and wastewater system as quickly as possible by whatever means necessary until such time that a permanent solution to the devastation may be implemented. SOONERWARN will provide a network of “utilities helping utilities” as the best method for responding to the immediate water and wastewater damage caused by natural disasters. By combining a mutual aid network with security information collaborative, SOONERWARN will cover all aspects of both natural and man-made emergency assistance

Is Mutual Aid Established under Oklahoma Law?

The Oklahoma Mutual Aid Law (MAL) establishes a statewide mutual aid agreement between local jurisdictions, thereby eliminating the need for written mutual agreements. To fully utilize the MAL, on emergency should be declared by an incorporated or legal jurisdiction. This may be done at the discretion of the jurisdiction when available resources are not sufficient to meet an imminent need. All mutual aid is provided at the discretion of the providing jurisdiction. It should be noted that jurisdictions retain the option of providing mutual aid on a case by case basis. Private utilities are not included in the Oklahoma MAL, however those utilities are encouraged to join SOONERWARN. The SOONERWARN steering committee has provided a mutual aid agreement for private utilities which will help promote “utilities helping utilities” in time of emergency. The mutual aid agreement may also be used by jurisdictions in lieu of declaring an emergency to activate the MAL.

How did SOONERWARN get started?

Oklahoma is susceptible to a variety of natural and man-made hazards that threaten the safety and well-being of our communities, businesses and environment. The formation of SOONERWARN is driven by a nationwide preparedness initiative based on natural and human caused emergencies and awareness that utility operations are specialized. They must be self sufficient to fill the gap between when a disaster happens in the arrival of government aid. The initial warrant systems were developed in Florida, Texas, and Louisiana where hurricanes were the trigger for the development of the program. Concerns of public water utilities along with preparedness planning within EPA and FEMA determined every state can utilize in benefit from a born system since disasters can occur anywhere.

How does SOONERWARN work during an emergency?

Member utilities are able to request assistance through the SOONERWARN website. Since electricity is often out during an emergency, SOONERWARN administrators and steering committee members attempt to contact, using emergency contact information, all members in the area of the storm to determine their needs. Administrators may then post the need via text messaging, email or twitter. SOONERWARN is designed to get the correct resources to the appropriate location within the first hours or days of an event. SOONERWARN is designed to gear up without any notice using the webpage and personal contact information to respond to any man-made emergency or other disasters.

Current Members

51 East Water
Atoka RWD #3
Blackwell Rural Water Corp
Bowlegs-Lima Water District Inc
Bryan Co RWS & SWMD #2
Cherokee Co RWD #2

Cherokee Co RWD #13
Cherokee Co RWD #11
Cherry Tree Rural Water District
City of Hugo
City of Lexington
City of Minco
City of Seminole
City of Wynnewood / Utility Authority
Duke Municipal Authority
Garfield Co RWD #5
Grady Co RWD #2

Grady Co RWD #6
Hardesty Municipal Authority
Harper Co RWD#1
Hughes Co RWD #6
Jefferson Co RWD #1
Johnston Co RWS & SWMD #4

Kay Co RWD #3
Leflore Co RWD #2
McClain Co RWD #8
McCurtain Co RWD #1
Medicine Park Public Works Authority
Meeker Public Works Authority
Muskogee Co RWD #6
Oklahoma Ordnance Works Authority
Okmulgee Co RWD #2
Okmulgee Co RWD #1
Orlando PWA
Pawnee Co RWD #1
Pittsburg Co RWS & SWMD #20
Pottawatomie County Development Authority
Pushmataha Co RWD #5

Roger Mills RWD #2 / Red Star
RWD #5, Sequoyah County
RWD #6, Okmulgee Co
RWS & SWMD #3, Roger Mills Co, Town of Reydon
RWD #6, Garvin County
Sardis Lake Water Authority
Seiling Public Works Authority
Sequoyah Co RWD #4
Spiro Municipal Improvement Auth / Town of Spiro
Stephens Co RWD #5
Stephens Co RWS & SWD #3
Tahlequah PWA
Town of Bridgeport / Bridgeport PWA
Town of Caddo Public Works Authority
Town of Carmen
Town of Cleo Springs
Town of Corn
Town of Fort Supply
Town of Goltry
Town of Leedey
Town of Okarche
Town of Roff / Roff
Public Works Authority
Tri-County RWD #2
Wagoner Co RWD #5

Wanette Public Works Authority
Washita Co RWD #2
Water Improvement District #3
Waukomis Public Works
Wayne Public Works Authority
Westville Utility Authority
Yale Water and Sewage Trust Authority

Scroll to Top